Known Johnson

July 29, 2008

Let’s make a deal

Filed under: Music — Tom @ 11:07 pm

Wow, that worked out well. I mentioned Monday that I picked up that Kubrick box at Costco (for a mere $34.95) and I would put the three two-disc special editions that I got last Christmas, which are included in it, up on Amazon. I did so by Monday night and now, Tuesday just a bit before bed, I have sold all three for just over $30 after Amazon takes their cut. Not bad – a box set for $5 (give or take a few dollars – tax, etc.)

Not only that, I also was engaged in something I kept a bit quiet just because I didn’t want to influence anything – you never know who is snooping around via Google. I mentioned last week how I picked up the Black Sabbath Rules of Hell box for $34.95. Well, at Best Buy it comes with a free bonus disc including 5 live tracks taken from a live album released exclusively by Rhino Handmade which sold out in record time – almost instantly, in fact – and now it’s worth BIG money on Ebay. I happen to own this live album, so I decided to see what would happen if I put the bonus disc, by itself, up on Ebay – and, yes, I made it extremely obvious that the auction was solely for the bonus disc. Tonight I have my answer: that box wound up costing me about $11 after the auction was over. That’s right, some fans who couldn’t get the Rhino live album and apparently can’t get the Best Buy exclusive were happy enough to pay $24 for this short live disc. “Want” and “need” are two really interesting phenomena that drive human beings. I won’t speculate too much because my own motor operates on a peculiar mixture of that fuel. I try to balance it out by being clever, like above, at least some of the time.

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

