Known Johnson

September 9, 2008

Itunes 8

Filed under: Ipod/Iphone — Tom @ 8:26 pm

I just installed Itunes 8. Oh my God . . . it’s creating thumbnails for each of my 3663 albums. The ones I painstakingly added my own damned artwork for in Media Monkey because they would be higher quality than what Itunes, if they had anything to offer at all (many times it did not.) If this screws those up, I’m going to be so pissed.

This view: blows. So slow. Every time you revisit any section it has to reload the artwork. Artwork can be resized so they are small thumbnails or larger previews. Nice but totally unnecessary, and with the constant reloading, it’s a total waste of time. I have already given up on it. Nice idea, Apple. Badly implemented, however.

New feature “Genius” is now s-l-o-w-l-y trawling through my 43,000 song library to figure out to make neat-o playlists of stuff that supposedly “goes great together” for me that I will likely never use. I’m only doing this out of curiosity. You can opt out of letting Genius have its way with your library, but in the interest of “science” I decided to see what it would do with a library the size of mine. I’ll probably find out when it’s done in, oh, 5 days or so. Who knows, maybe it will actually be useful to me. Ah, who am I kidding? The days I don’t listen to albums are few and far between.

Update, several hours later: Sweet. Itunes crashed while attempting to upload the data to the servers, apparently. So far: very impressive, Steve Jobs!

Updated update It seems that the Genius function works ONLY off of Itunes Music Store, so if they don’t sell and it’s in your collection, it will yield only an error! Awesome! That means that like half of my collection will produce no Genius results – or maybe that’s why Itunes crashed last night. It just threw up its proverbial hands and said “I give up! This guy’s a weirdo. I don’t know ANY of this stuff!”

Leave a Comment »

No comments yet.

RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

