Known Johnson

January 12, 2009

New year brings joy

Filed under: General — Tom @ 2:57 pm

It’s January 12. I’m still coughing crap up from whatever it is that I got a couple days after Christmas. That was a whole year ago! I got cipro running through my system because my doctor said I may have “several things going on,” and it’s killing off every bit of bacteria, bad and good. So far, not too impressed with the cipro. The coughing and stuffy nose: seriously getting old.

Danielle is getting big. Big! She’s 6 weeks old and already about to outgrow her bassinet, which Amanda was in for about three months. I’m wondering if she didn’t inherit the “tall” genes in the family – most of us are short, but there are a few freaks among us who tower well into the 6 foot range, including several on my dad’s side of the family, and my older brother-in-law also qualifies. The funny thing is I have no recollection of how big Amanda was, it’s only when others remind me of where she was at this point that I realize that Danielle is growing so quickly. Big eye, big cheeks, and, to entertain us, she makes lots of grunty noises all the time. It is strange, however, how different things are – with Amanda, we had no idea what to expect. Now that we do know from experience, I find I’m anxious to get to those next stages – sitting up, crawling, etc.

Do you know how hard it is to find a dresser for kids – an affordable dresser? Amanda needs a new one since the one she’s been using will be making its way into Danielle’s room soon, but we’re stymied by the fact that we can’t find one that isn’t ridiculously expensive. I mean, I don’t want to buy something cheap for my little girl, but I think spending $800-1000 on a small dresser is a bit excessive, don’t you think? I know there’s this whole industry catering to parents who can’t help but buy “nothing but the best” for their kids, but you can’t tell me that the entire market has disappeared for the rest of us, the “nothing but ‘eh, it’s okay,'” crowd, apparently. Or is this another example of the Itunes-ification of American – give them one choice and they have no option but to go along with it?

The house is a mess, things are everywhere. We are in limbo unlike ever before. I get this heavy sense of dread any time I try to clean anything up, because all that winds up happening is that I simply shift things from one place to another. Nothing can really be put away because that would involve the kind of deconstruction that requires an entire crew. What we need is for one of those home de-clutter/organizational genius shows to come to us and figure this out, because I fear we are too far gone. Maybe if I took a week off of work and just relegated the time solely to organizing . . . but, honestly, most of the time would be me sitting in front of stacks of stuff, rubbing my head, mumbling, “Oh my God, where do I even begin?”

Speaking of organizing, if anyone is wondering, there will indeed be a year-end best-of music list forthcoming. Along with the lack of space has come a distinct lack of time, but I have vowed to myself to put together a list since I seem to have focused on a number of things my fellow Blogcritics have not and they deserve attention. (Nevermind that I rarely review music anymore – I still listen a lot and once in a while, like at year’s end, feel the need to say something.)

I didn’t watch the Golden Globes last night but I did see someone mention how awful Sting looked:

Stung?

Seriously? Sting, dude, you’re on TV.

And finally, your moment of zen:

2 Comments »

  1. I suggest IKEA as an affordable kids furniture location. Good luck!

    Comment by Stacy Miller — January 12, 2009 @ 4:46 pm | Reply

  2. I feel your pain on the sickness front, man. I was diagnosed as having “bronchial sinus infection” last Friday, after having had it since the Wednesday before and now, today, it’s two weeks’ worth of misery and suffering and my left ear is SO infected still that I’m probably going back to the stupid doctor tomorrow. It’s so frustrating. The coughing is easing up, thank GOD, but when I do cough now it hurts so bad because everything in my lungs and chest is bruised. Lovely!

    Comment by bekah — January 14, 2009 @ 9:57 pm | Reply


RSS feed for comments on this post. TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

